La Lakers Legendary

La Lakers Legendary Players Beside Kobe Bryant

The helicopter crash that killed basketball player Kobe Bryant and his daughter has left a deep sorrow for basketball fans and all people in the world. Kobe Bryant is one of the most successful basketball players in history. He started his career by entering the National Basketball Association (NBA) after graduating from high school.

Throughout his career, the man whose full name is Kobe Bean Bryant has won the All-Star 18 times and twice the NBA Finals MVP. As a member of the US Team, he won gold medals at the 2008 and 2012 Summer Olympics. Since debuting in 1996 at the age of 18, Kobe Bryant has been the inspiration for generations of basketball players both nationally and internationally. He played 20 seasons for the Los Angeles Lakers (LA Lakers) before deciding to retire in 2016 due to his deteriorating physical condition.

Los Angeles Lakers (LA Lakers) itself is a professional basketball team based in Los Angeles, United States. The Lakers are one of the most successful and popular teams of all sports in America. The Lakers have won as many as 16 awards from the Basketball Association of America (BAA) and the National Basketball Association (NBA), number two in basketball history. This team has also scored the best basketball players in history, one of which is Kobe Bryant.

Here’s a list of Lakers players who are also a legendary.

Magic Johnson

Magic Johnson

Playing as a Point Guard in a number of matches, Magic Johnson is called the second greatest Lakers player of all time. He has played in 12 All-Star games, has three MVP awards, three NBA Finals MVPs, and five other titles, and holds the greatest record for total assists and assists per game in NBA history. Magic Johnson had been the Lakers for 13 years throughout his career, from his debut in 1979 to 1991, and returned in 1996, which was also his final year competing in basketball.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar made his debut as a basketball player in 1969 with a position as a center for approximately 20 years of his career. In 1975, Kareem was recruited to join the Lakers for 14 seasons until he decided to end his career at the age of 42 in 1989. Throughout his career, he has won five NBA awards and three MVP as a Laker. Kareem has also been recognized as the best skyhook in NBA history.

Shaquille O’Neal

shaquille o neal

Shaquille O’Neal, his name took off when he joined the Lakers for eight seasons, where O’Neal earned his own MVP award and three of the four NBA championships. In addition, O’Neal is also second in league history with 27 points, 11.8 rebounds, and 2.5 blocks in each game. Playing as a center, O’Neal closed his career journey in 2011 after about 19 years since he debuted in 1992.

George Mikan

George Mikan is called the first NBA star and was nicknamed Mr. Basketball during his career’s golden age. He was so dominant that it led to many rule changes in the NBA, including the introduction of goaltending and the creation of the shot clock. Mikan also introduced the hook-shot technique before it became known as it is today. Throughout his career, Mikan has won five awards as he led the then-Minneapolis Lakers’ team to the NBA’s first dynasty.

James Worthy

james worthy legendary

James Worthy or known as the Big Game James, was number three as the Lakers Showtime in the 1980s. Worthy participated in seven consecutive NBA All-Star Games and was one of the Lakers besides Magic Johson and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who won the Finals MVP award for five leagues in the 1980s. He has played basketball for 12 years as a power forward and reserves small forward for the Lakers.

Jerry West

As a shooting guard and point guard, Jerry West was confirmed as the third player in league history to get 25 thousand points. He also won the singles title in 1972 and finished his 14-year career at the LA Lakers with 27 points, 5.8 rebounds, and 6.7 assists per game.